Oct 24, 2017 06:38 PM

Quick Take: Banking, Securities Regulator Chiefs Elected to Party's Central Committee

Photo: Visual China
Photo: Visual China

The chiefs of China’s banking and securities regulators were elected to the Communist Party’s Central Committee, the 204-member body that comprises the party’s top leaders.

Guo Shuqing, head of the China Banking Regulatory Commission, and Liu Shiyu, head of the China Securities Regulatory Commission, are the two representatives from financial regulators.

In addition to Guo and Liu, there are two other elected members who have substantial financial experience.

Jiang Chaoliang, now the party secretary of Hubei province, worked at various posts at the central bank, as well as previously being the head of the Bank of Communications and the Agricultural Bank of China.

Ding Xuedong, deputy secretary-general of the State Council, is former chairman of China Investment Corp., the country’s sovereign wealth fund.

Meanwhile, Miao Jianmin, president of the People’s Insurance Company Group of China Co., was elected as one of the 172 alternate members of the Central Committee. Miao was not listed among the 44 delegates to the 19th Party Congress from the financial sector. Seven other alternate members were also elected from the financial sector.

Contact reporter Leng Cheng ( and Aries Poon (

You've accessed an article available only to subscribers
Share this article
Open WeChat and scan the QR code