Nov 06, 2020 05:22 PM

China Extends Travel Bans to Italy, Russia, Belgium and India as Covid-19 Cases Soar

What’s new: China has expanded its temporary inbound travel ban to include four more countries, including Italy, Russia, Belgium and India after initially suspending entry to travelers from the U.K. and the Philippines due to a rise of Covid-19 cases in those countries.

According to statements from Chinese embassies in the most recently added four countries, non-Chinese nationals with valid visas and residential permits for work, personal matters and reunion have been temporarily denied entry into China. The Chinese Embassy will also no longer issue health certificates for them. 

The temporary travel ban does not apply to the holders of diplomatic, service, courtesy or C visas, or foreigners with emergency needs, as well as travelers applying for visas after Nov. 3, statements said. As of noon Friday, temporary travel bans had been placed on a total of six countries that China had previously allowed entry to.

The background: New coronavirus cases have rebounded in some European and Asian countries as winter begins to close in. In Belgium, the confirmed number of coronavirus cases has rocketed to 468,000, with the number of related deaths standing at 12,331. An increase in cases has also been seen in Italy and Russia, with Italy announcing tougher measures to curb the spike. In addition, India has long been the country with the second-highest number of cases, after the U.S., with a total now reaching 8.41 million.

Quick Takes are condensed versions of China-related stories for fast news you can use.

Contact editor Marcus Ryder (

You've accessed an article available only to subscribers
Share this article
Open WeChat and scan the QR code